Indian Prime ministers 1947 – Till date

Prime Ministers in India

Narendra Modi – 2014 till date

Manmohan Singh – 2004-14

Atal Bihari Vajpayee – 1998-2004

IK Gujral – 1997-98

HD Deve Gowda – 1996-97

AB Vajpayee – 1996

PV Narasimha Rao – 1991-96

Chandra Shekhar – 1990-91

VP Singh – 1989-90

Rajiv Gandhi – 1984-89

Indira Gandhi – 1980-84

Charan Singh – 1979-80

Morarji Desai – 1977-79

Indira Gandhi – 1966-77

Gulzarilal Nanda – 1966-66

Lal Bahadur Shastri – 1964-66

Gulzarilal Nanda – 1964

Jawaharlal Nehru – 1947-64

Also given are the details of their tenure since independence:


Jawaharlal Nehru

Tenure – 15th Aug 1947 – 27th May 1964 for 16 years, 286 days

Jawaharlal Nehru is the first Prime Minister of independent India and played a significant role in shaping modern India by imparting modern values and thinking. He was a social reformer and one of his major work towards society was the reform of the ancient Hindu civil code. It permitted Hindu widow to enjoy equal right with men as far as property and inheritance was concerned.

Gulzarilal Nanda

Tenure – 27 May 1964 – 9th June 1964 for 13 days

Tenure – 11th January 1966 – 24th January 1966 for 13 days

He was the first ‘Interim Prime Minister’ of India.

Lal Bahadur Shastri

Tenure – 9th June 1964 – 11 January 1966 for 1 year, 216 days

He was the loyal follower of Mahatma Gandhi and gave the popular slogan ‘Jai Jawan Jai Kisan’. Shastri was a soft-spoken person who promoted ‘White Revolution’ to increase the production of milk in India.

Indira Gandhi

Tenure – 24th January 1966 – 24th March 1977 for 11 years, 59 days

Tenure – 14th January 1980 – 31st October 1984 for 4 years, 291 days

Indira Gandhi was the first woman Prime Minister of India and the world’s longest serving woman Prime Minister. Her courage and boldness made India win over Pakistan in 1971. She made a significant contribution in improving international relations with neighbouring countries.


Morarji Desai

Tenure – 24th March 1977 – 28th July 1979 for 2 years, 126 days

Morarji Desai is the first non Congress Prime Minister of India. He and his minister formally ended the state of emergency which was imposed by Indira Gandhi.


Charan Singh

Tenure – 28th July 1979 – 14th January 1980 for 170 days

As a Revenue Minister of Uttar Pradesh Charan Singh removed the Zamindari system and brought in Land Reform Acts.


Rajiv Gandhi – 1984-89

Tenure – 31st October 1984 – 2nd December 1989 for 5 years, 32 days

Rajiv Gandhi became Prime Minister at the age of 40 and played a major role in bringing computers to India. He actually modernized the Indian administration. He improved the bilateral relationships with the US and expanded economic cooperation.


V.P. Singh

Tenure – 2nd December 1989 – 10th November 1990 for 343 days

V.P. Singh worked to improve the condition of poor in the country.


Chandra Shekhar

Tenure – 10th November 1990 to 21st June 1991 for 223 days


  1. V. Narasimha Rao

Tenure – 21st June 1991 – 16th May 1996 for 4 years 330 days

  1. V. Narasimha Rao was one of the most able administrators who brought major economic reforms. He is also known as the Father of Indian Economic Reforms. He dismantled the License Raj and reversed the socialist policies of Rajiv Gandhi’s government. Because of his immense ability he was also referred to as Chanakya.


Atal Bihari Vajpayee

Tenure – 16th May 1996 – 1st June 1996 for 16 days

Tenure –19th March 1998 – 22nd May 2004 for 6 years 64 days

Atal Bihari Vajpayee was one of the finest Prime Ministers of India. During his tenure the inflation was very low in India. He worked on economic reforms and policies especially for rural India. It was during his tenure that India Pakistan relationship got slightly better. Telecom industry touched new heights.


  1. D. Deve Gowda

Tenure – 1st June 1996 – 21st April 1997 for 324 days

During this period, Deve Gowda also held additional charges of Home Affairs, Petroleum and Chemicals, Urban Employment, Food processing, Personnel, etc. He had been collectively elected leader of the United Front coalition government.

IK Gujral – 1997-98

Tenure- 21st April 1997 – 19th March 1998 for 332 days

The most important task during his term as PM was his resistance in signing CTBT(Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty). It made a clear way to conduct the Pokhran nuclear tests. He worked towards improving relationship with Pakistan and gave a five-point doctrine known as Gujral Doctrine.


Manmohan Singh – 2004-14

Tenure – 22nd May 2004 – May 2014

During the tenure of Manmohan Singh work was done to reform the banking as well as financial sector along with public companies. His government brought in the value added tax and worked on pro-industry policies. The National Rural Health Mission was started in 2005. Eight additional IITs were opened in Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Gujarat, Orissa, Punjab, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Himachal Pradesh.


Narendra Modi

Tenure – May 2014 Narendra Damodardas Modi assumed office on May 26, 2014. He is the 15th Prime Minister of India. Since the beginning of his tenure in 2014, Modi has laid down a strict and disciplined system of governance. He has enforced many policies such as the Jan Dhan Yojana, Swachh Bharat Abhiyan – aimed towards cleanliness marking the 150th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi in 5 years, Clean Ganga project, etc. for the upliftment of the nation.

Ramandeep Kaur