This stands for Visitors Intended Stay Abroad. It is the patent which concedes the citizen of one country to travel to another country for a specified period of time and a designated purpose. VISA is issued by the embassy of the host country situated in the visiting person’s country. The VISA is usually said to be a bilateral agreement between two countries.

A VISA is an avenue made by a diplomatic official of a government in a passport or other travel document, which indicates that the bearer has been granted permission to enter or re-enter the host country. 

VISA comprises of following details;

A) Authorized length of stay

B) The period of validity

C) The number of times a person is allowed entry i.e. that may single or multiple entry, during that period. A single entry visa will not be valid if it has been used once, even though the validity date has not expired.In case of multiple entry visas, its validity expires on the date of expiry.The date of entry stamp is imprinted on the passport when a person arrives in the country concerned (this stamp can be placed on the page bearing the visa or on another page of the passport, which gradually shows that the visa has been used).Entry to host country is almost confirmed when the traveler gets the visa, but the final decision regarding the entry is taken by the immigration officials at the entry point, as they have the authority to deny the entry to any traveler if they find anything suspicious.

Visa help the immigration department of the host country to keep a tab on the number of visitors that are likely to travel and from a country.Visas are also required for children. If a child travels on an adult passport, the visa in that passport must mention that it is valid for both, the child as well as the adult concerned. The visa is granted in the form of a rubber stamp on a passport or an endorsement. If the embassy or consulate is not available in the country to issue the visa then it becomes necessary to send the passport to the country where travel is intended in order to get the permission in form of a visa.

There are countries for which you don’t have to get permission prior to arrival. Such countries issue visas on arrival i.e. Hong Kong, Malaysia, Thailand, and Mauritius etc. The intended traveler should first make sure they have a valid citizenship and visa requirements for the country he/she intends to visit.

Types of visa

Government of India issues the following visas:

1) e-Visa

2) Business Visa

3) Conference Visa

4) Diplomatic Visa

5) Employment Visa

6) Emergency Visa

7) Entry Visa

8) Journalist Visa

9) Medical Visa

10) Missionaries Visa

11) Permit to re-enter within 2 months

12) Research Visa

13) Student Visa

14) Tourist Visa

15) Transit Visa

16) Intern Visa Film Visa